Designed by Edmund Blacket and constructed between 1857 and 1860, St John’s Anglican Church in Cooks Hill is Newcastle’s oldest standing church with a busy and vibrant modern congregation. … More St John’s Anglican Church – Cooks Hill
Comment from Terrence Owen: “The remains of an early boiler located near the loading point of A & B Pits Collieries of Wallarah Coal Company.” Add your stories of Catherine Hill Bay to the comments!
Amusement train ride that was under the screen of the Skyline drive-in Lambton. 1960’s. From Lost Newcastle member Mark Spurr.
Mayfield Pool – BHP’s Gift to City – Officially opened Saturday 12/11/66 @ 2.30pm. Distinguished guests are from L – R; Seated behind speaker is Alderman Mr Frank Purdue; Sir Ian McLennan Chief General Manager of BHP; Lord Mayor D G McDougall & Mr R Coulton General Manager BHP; At time of opening admission … More Mayfield Swimming Pool opening 1966
The ABC Newcastle Local Treasures story on the pool is here. The question of the existence of the ‘map pool’, Young Mariners Pool, canoe pool – whatever – seems to come up regularly. Some people are convinced the map is still there! Sadly, it’s not, having been removed by Newcastle City Council decades ago. … More Young Mariners Pool, Map Pool, Canoe Pool
The question appeared on Lost Newcastle, “Does anyone know this grave? It use to scare us when we were kids.” Lone graves always seem so sad. Unloved and forgotten. This from Margaret at Lake Macquarie District Historical Society: In a small park along Park Parade, Marmong Point stands the grave of William Bell and Margaret Scott … More Quigley Grave – Booragul